Cuteness Personified

Yesterday when my blood pressure hit the ceiling after an exchange with one of my neighbors, this cute little guy, Rusty, must have looked right into my Heart and said, “Drats!  Mom’s Heart needs to smile.  Let me see what I can do!”

Mind you, Rusty normally does not sit in this tower just posing for me.  He had me smiling in a split moment when I saw the merriment in his eyes as he sat smack right next to this stuffed animal.  My Heart hanging so low lost its heaviness.  Come on!  How could it not smile?

And yes, Dan, I said to myself, “I’ve just got to get that picture!”  But of course!

Now some of you more curious minded might be asking what made my blood pressure boil?  Good question.  You honestly want to hear about what happened?  Then let me do my utmost to do so briefly and without judgment.

I supply the food for the 3 barn cats who live next door to us.  After seeing how badly these cats’ health were effected by the complete junk they were being fed, I stepped in and said I would buy food for them.  There was no argument that ensued.  And there was no offer to pay for or help pay for the food either.  The food we buy is expensive consisting of excellent quality.

So I have been keeping a 10-pound bag in the barn, a quarter filled with cat food.  That bag I place inside a good quality plastic container to maintain freshness that hubby bought.  And then that container I put inside a barrel so that the coons will not get at the food.  Every time the food runs low the owner leaves the container out for me. I would see it when I go over to change water in water dishes, make sure there was food in the food dishes, give Cherish the horse an apple, and when called for, clean out the kitty litter that’s in that barn.  Yes I do all this every day from out of the Love of my Heart.

If I don’t do these things these important matters are not addressed.

My neighbors do not understand the importance of good nutrition for their animals.  They also do not care much at all for these cats much less Love them.  In the summer and warmer weather, you can find all 3 barn cats living in my gardens, hanging out in our garage on a chair or on a rug, lounging on our front porch, or actually asleep on the mat on the front porch at night.  Why?  We Love them and they Love us.  We consider them to be an addition to our family.  And instead of they eating in the barn during those warm months, they eat mostly from the food I leave out for them here at our house.

Anyways … yesterday.  I saw my plastic container sitting out on the barn floor which indicates the food needs refilling.  When I picked it up I noticed one entire side was cracked and broken.  Of course the side that wasn’t broken was showing and I only found out the condition of my container when I picked it up.

Moments later, I saw the main owner pull in with his pick up truck.  I approached him and asked him bluntly what happened to my container.  He looked at me right in the eye and lied to me.  “I don’t know”, he replied.  I again tried.  I asked how did my container get broken.  Again he replied with a nonchalant shrug, “I don’t know.”

No forthcoming apology.  And with attitude that clearly said he could care less if my container was broken.  Not his problem.

My “Irish” making my face red, I stalked off, furious.  This man is the only one who puts food out in the barn every day so I know without a doubt that he broke it.  He denied it and he lied to me.  As with multiple past events, he just expected I would replace it, the cost (again) coming out of my pocket.

Now some of you who know me may want to know why I did not say anything.  I’ll tell you why.  My neighbors being the people they are, IF I upset them or get them angry, or call a spade for a spade, they have the power to ban me from that barn and will then just continue to mistreat and neglect their animals.  Without me running interference for the sake of these precious animals, things will go back as they were.  I’m not willing to do that to them.  And so for the sake of the 3 barn cats and Cherish the horse, I did not allow my temper to get the better of me.

I took a bike ride to let steam off.  Fourteen miles to be exact.  And it worked.  And as for Rusty he has a way about him that all I have to do is look at him and a smile radiates from my face.

How would you have acted under the same circumstances?  Or don’t you know?

Photography/ “Cuteness Personified”/ July 2017©AmyRose
http://www.herladypinkrose.wordpress.com

💞☺️💞

73 thoughts on “Cuteness Personified

  1. That is cuteness personified for sure. Since you asked I would avoid an issue with my neighbors sweet lady. It can get put of hand. A number if years ago my best friends husband was quarreling over lawn issues and after several months of back and forth his neighbor ran him down with his car and killed him. I like to keep the peace because one doesn’t know how combustible small things can become. You are such a fine person to care for these precious creatures that rely on us. Sending much love to you dear Amy. ❤

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Oh, Holly, that is horrible!! OMG! I feel strongly alterations between neighbors are just not worth it and what you told me confirms that. We’ve had problems with this man previously over property lines to the extent hubby and he ended in court arguing. Ah ah. Not going to get on the bad side of this man. What is important to me are those cats. And so I won’t fight. Really really sorry to hear about your friend. My God! That is a nightmare! BIG HUGS! 💕

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I feel sure, that you are doing the right here, both for their animals, as they should have been banned to have many years ago and for your own security too. I’m not sure, that I would be able to do the same.
    You are a beautiful soul and do your utmost for all animals close to you.
    Much love ❤ Irene

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Irene, this man has “old farmer” mentality where animals are just animals and nothing more. He just doesn’t understand the value of animals or how special they are. I will not judge this man. I know not what he is here to learn so when these interactions happen, and they do, even though it is difficult for me, I always put the needs of the animals first. Always. Much Love to you, dear friend. 💝

      Like

  3. I don’t know if you could’ve handled it any better, Amy. The motivation is in the right place, and I’m sure those cats appreciate your efforts, even with the egregious disregard of their health by their owner.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Could be why we decided to live here, Rob. For years, more then I can tell you, cats have come to us for help. And I have stepped in more times then I care to talk about in regards the welfare of these animals whose home is originally in this barn. Not trusting the animal organization here (up close and personal experience …. not good!) I instead do all I can to make the lives of these animals as happy as possible. The winters are the hardest. That’s another whole story. Thank you for your encouragement and taking the time to read this post today! Have a great day! 🌹

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You have a kind heart. Your neighbor is not nice. If he wants to keep cats as pets, he ought to pay for their food. I can understand if he is ignorant about cat nutrition but after seeing you buy the correct type, he ought to know how to proceed thereon. Instead he takes advantage. Not worth getting cross with him. You do it for the cats and the cats love you for it. This is the prize and yes if you berate him more, he may not let you see his cats anymore. I honestly think he is obtuse and may even let you scold but act stupid as the cost is yours. *Thick skin perhaps* Move on and that gorgeous ginger cat on the post has me giving him Garfield hugs☺ Stay happy!🌝🐾🐾💕💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, Garfield, this man and his daughter do take advantage of me. If you knew the entire story you honestly wouldn’t believe it. His ignorance and his arrogance is what is holding him prisoner within his heart and because I can see this, I do not hold grudges. (Ditto with his daughter.) Like you said it is not worth getting cross with him because knowing him the way I do, just to hurt me deeply he would tell me I could no longer go into his barn. I’m not willing to do that because the welfare of these cats are more important to me. And that is just that! 🐾😸🐾

      Like

  5. Cute Rusty!! Must know his mom’s a photographer!! You are following what is important to you – your heart – and those animals are in your heart!! That neighbor isn’t important to your heart, but you never know what seeds you are planting! If he don’t get it this lifetime . . maybe in a few more perhaps??? You acted like a star!!! xxxDonna

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Donna, what is important in my Heart are the animals and if people mistreat me in the process, I must and I do let it fly away. As for seeds, I’ve been planting those for many many years and at this rate those seeds won’t be flowering until another life. As long as they do, that is all that matters. And thank you regarding how I acted. Sometimes it just is so not easy to hold my temper in check when all I want to do is blast someone. Nope. That never works out well. ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

    1. George, in my book, there is no other way. We LOVE these cats so much and to care for them is the least we can do. They are neglected by their owners and if you knew the entire history you would get upset. Just know regardless of what these people think of us or how they treat us, we will not stop caring for, feeding, and most importantly LOVING these precious cats right up to the very end of their lives. That is just who we are! 😺🐾🐾🐾😺

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I probably would have done the same, even if it did irk me to the core. Some people are just not worth the energy spent in exacting the sort of revenge we might like to lol. Bless you, Amsgirl, for being the Light, Bright and Beautiful in this otherwise shadowy world.

    (*^‿^*) TYSM on this `♥´ThankfulThursday `♥´for ALL You share to Inspire. (*^‿^*)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly, Morgan. The ugly history this man represents … let’s just say I’m pretty sure Divine Grace sent us out this way to build our house right next door. I’ll continue to do what I can for these animals. The thrill just with Cherish the horse when she whinnies as I walk into the barn … and the way she smiles at me and nuzzles me …. I have SO much Love around me if that counted in this world I would be one of the richest women in the world. You are SO welcome, dear friend!! 😸🐎🐾💞

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad they have me too, Joey. I thought hard on that bike ride about what is important here …. defending righteously I may add, my honor, or the care for those cats. Yep, those cats won it hands down! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  7. a woman who should not be driving. she killed the old fellow with her car. My girl was her mate and she spent many days looking for him. she said she was sorry and said she did not like cats anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh, I hate it when people do evil things and then you have to worry about looking like the bad guy for being confrontational. In some situations it is best to hold your tongue though. I think you made a wise choice. It’s not like you didn’t say anything anyway. He knew you knew so what more can be done?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yeah, he knew I knew, Marissa, but to squeak out of buying a new container for me that is the “reason” why he acted the way he did. He’s not necessarily evil because I see it more as ignorance and an attitude the world owes him. I’ve had dealings with this man before and believe me there is no moving him. So I quietly make sure those animals are taken care of as best as possible. 💝🐾🐎

      Like

  9. Oh, I understand. They not caring makes it impossible to do something about their behavior and since you do care you cannot simply turn away…. I would be steaming too regarding the hopeless situation and the feeling of being used… At least you have your kitties…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve learned to put myself aside in many circumstances in life, Erika. One of the quickest ways my dander or temper flairs up is when I see something wrong in relation to animals. I feel rage! Admittedly I did feel rage yesterday because once again I was being taken granted for and doing something this man should be doing. In stepping further back after a LONG bike ride, bottom line what is important is the welfare of those animals and that is where I come in. 🐾🌹

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I so understand. Instead of being thankful that you care … but as you said, he doesn’t care whether you do it or not. It is really only you and the cats. At least he lets you… 💖

        Liked by 1 person

  10. I would have done just the same. I am not very good with confrontation anyway..after all they are your neighbours and getting into a beef with them is always ugly considering they are right next to you. Hopefully they will come around. You have a kind heart and it is so lovely for you to care for your cats and other cats as much as you do! Keep smiling Amy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve gotten better with confrontation yet being the situation for what it was I really had to swallow what I really wanted to say to this man. Hubby and this man years ago got into a battle over property lines and acually wound up in court … two hot headed stubborn males. Not me! I do have a heart for the animals, Alifya. I didn’t always but boy oh boy do I ever now. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Feed the barn cats in your yard and while they are busy, burn the barn to the ground, and then they have to stay with you and you no longer have to deal with the neighbor.
    Or, as your doing everything for them anyway, build a cat ‘sleep over’ at the back of your garage and after a while they’ll get used to ‘feeding and living’ there anyway and be out of his reach.
    And…buy the horse…mind you your cars will get very shiny where they rub up against the cars in the garage 😀
    Ever thought of an animal rescue yard Amy…a bit of expansion required though, your gardens might not like the over supply of horse manure though 😀 ❤ 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmmmm …. several things that just wont’ do. Huh. Firstly if I burned that barn that would undo all the hard laborious work I’ve done to learn how to live from Higher Self. Secondly, I know there is such a thing as you get what you give SO if I harmed that barn I would in turn be harmed. Thirdly, a horse on our property would transform the lawn that hubby works so hard on into a mud pasture. Do ya know how large horse poo is? Sorry no room for a horse AND my car in our garage. Oh my heavens! As it is we do have an animal rescue yard …. birds, squirrels, rabbits, chipmunks, deer, cats, coons, bees, oh my what DON’T we have is more like it! In all seriousness we would love to build a building that is heated and well ventilated for these cats BUT cats are creatures of habit and that barn unfortunately is their home. They will still end up in it. We’ve talked about arranging things so that we use our garage during the winter for these cats BUT we don’t have a cat door and cats must have two doors or means of escapes. That’s the law according to cats. And then the people. Sigh. What is theirs is theirs. I’ve recently had a conversation with owner’s daughter when I thought Echo was dying about calling an in-home VET to euthanize him and she refused permission, saying “no” outright. This coming from a woman who has nothing to do with these cats yet they are hers. Hers. Got that, Mark? And no one takes anything that is hers. Another sigh. We really are doing all we can wishing we could do more. Between you and me, when Echo is really dying (truly we thought he was but he made a miraculous turnaround) we will still call that Vet and then tell this woman we found him dead in our gardens. Or something. We will not stand idle and watch someone we love suffer needlessly. Whew! Nuff said. This is a HOT subject for me, dear friend! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was only kidding…I think 😀
        And I have no doubt it is a very HOT subject. just breeeeathe my friend, you may not know it but your beautiful actions are not going un-noticed. Why do you think he acts the way he does…it is because he can ‘see’ the good in you, and in doing that it makes him uncomfortable because he knows he too should be nice to the cats etc.
        Just be you my friend and gradually his conscience will change his heart accordingly, there is no better teacher than the one that stands in their truth young lady 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Mark, I know you were kidding. In fact I did laugh out loud when I read what you wrote. Yet knowing what I know I cannot even afford to kid around and make light of what my neighbor has done and is still doing. I will take no chances to allow seeds of grudges to root in my Heart. There is so much more to this story … this is only one small example of what is occurring and how I am treated. As for he seeing and learning I’m not holding my breath. His attitude towards most people is condescending. It is just not only me. I will continue being me and keeping an eye on these animals. Already I have “new” ideas what to do for this winter when the temps get so cold in order to keep these cats as warm as possible. Until then, they live in my gardens, in our garage, and our front porch. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  12. I’m glad you got the photo of Rusty and I’m really glad Rusty came to your rescue. I used to think that the expression “no good deed goes unpunished” was a crazy thought. It does seem to be true in this case. You’re a good person, Amy. I’m sure the cats appreciate you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. These cats are SO smart, Dan. Never do they cease to amaze as I’m allowed more and more into their world … or is it that I am understanding more? I dunno. I just know they fascinate me! And as for that expression you wrote I have another one …. what goes around comes around. These outdoor cats … some stories I could tell. Yes they more then appreciate us. They really Love us! As I said … family! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. You are welcome, YellowCable! Hands down I really Love these animals. It is just a part of me and if that means taking nasty from my neighbor I will. Do I like being treated like that? Oh no way! I just won’t jeopardize these cats’ welfare. They are finally looking SO good after months of me feeding them good food and really making an effort to be with them as much as possible. Yep, they are Loved!! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Maverick. Easier to do then other times, that pause. Yet it truly is the best form of action. I have a little saying … when you anger you loose. That’s not to say though that anger does have a rightful place in life as long as it is done in a certain manner. Huh. Anger is actually a subject I’ve been chewing about because it is truly a slick trickster. Have a great evening!! ❤

      Like

  13. Aren’t you wonderful taking charge of those kitties. I don’t know why people get animals if they can’t look after them, it really annoys me. And you are right, there is no point in getting annoyed with him, he will only make life tougher. As for that gorgeous posing kitty of yours .. he is so beautiful 😻

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Old way farmer mentality, Julie. Animals are just its. Something owned and beyond that nothing. Today I spoke to the owner’s daughter’s husband who found out about the broken container. This man is nice. And he offered to replace the container. He like me doesn’t understand how it got broken yet he was concerned and genuinely sorry. So now I’m really glad I did not loose my cool. It annoys me these animals are not cherished and loved. That’s where I come in. And I do insist I care for them. 🌹

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Aww such cuteness indeed Amy.. And yes, for the sake of the cats I think and hope I would have bit my tongue too..

    You have such a great big heart Amy.. And yes, too many trivial things often start world war three with neighbours..

    Sending love and Hugs x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Much Love to you, dear friend. Yes these cats are far more important then my ego. It all ended well. The owner’s son in law spoke to me and replaced the container. Beautiful and kind. I did receive in return for all I do. 🌹

      Liked by 1 person

Precious Thoughts

