Wet And Wild (5 IMAGES)

Talk about excitement!  Mother Nature has been giving us quite the show here.  Honestly!  Just last week flash floods and now two days ago 2 tornados [oops as of last night the news said 3 tornadoes] touched down one at Chestnut Ridge Park the park I go to all the time!  I heard the tornado did quite some damage on the lower end near the Eternal Flame so I’m so hoping the trail I hike is OK.  My Guidance is telling me “no go” right now so when I do get a green light I will get on over there.

I’ve been trying to ride my bike when the sun does shine and I’ve managed very well thank you!  One day last week I did peek at the National Weather Service and it said mostly sunny.  Wonderful!  I so looked forward to that bike ride and the moment I finished up with all I do, I did go.  But …

Hey!  Those clouds look threatening and where I might add was that sun?  Mostly sunny my arse!  And sure enough it began to rain here

whereupon I turned my bike around to head back home.  See that huge dark cloud right above me?  Yep.  That’s the bad boy who let loose.  I refuse to ride a bike in the rain.  It is far too dangerous when those brakes get wet.  Thank goodness there were only a few large splats.

I started grumping.  I had looked forward to a nice long ride but I wasn’t about to take a chance on a downpour.  We have been getting deluge after deluge with rain coming down as if a Monsoon were the normal around here.  So no, I wasn’t about to take a chance in case again the skies opened up and I became caught in a Monsoon.  Two days ago when the tornados hit I shot this out of our dining room window taken with my Canon.

Now I ask you is this not cool or what?  It was so hot that steam was rising off our barn roof, the water falling vetically hard and fast off the roof, and the clouds literally sitting on the earth itself in our backyard.  What an amazing feeling those moments gave me!

Now back to the story … my bike ride ….

I was riding down our street heading home as I looked around me seeing these huge black threatening clouds.  I just had to stop to take pictures of what I saw …

Seeing is believing.  You tell me.  Would you consider this day to be mostly sunny?

Below are some links to the wild weather we have been having lately.  I do apologize to those of you who will be taking the time to check them out regarding the advertisements.  One link you actually have to scroll down to shut an obnoxious advertisement off just to hear the video that is posted.  *sighs*

And oh about those weather forecasters … I’m not sure if what I heard is actually on one of the videos below but the National Weather Service was 8-10 minutes off warning people about the tornados.  My Brother-In-Law who lives where one of the tornadoes touched down received a warning on his cellphone, yet the National Weather Service hadn’t even mentioned where he lives as a likely place a tornado would hit.  OMG!  Thank goodness no one was seriously hurt or killed!

Really?

http://www.wgrz.com/news/lancaster-hit-by-flooding-on-a-rainy-thursday/456571017

http://www.onenewspage.com/video/20170721/8496270/Chestnut-Ridge-Park-Damage.htm

http://www.wkbw.com/news/confirmed-a-tornado-touched-down-in-erie-county

Photography/”Wet And Wild”/ July 2017©AmyRose
http://www.herladypinkrose.wordpress.com

💞🌈💞

64 thoughts on “Wet And Wild (5 IMAGES)

  1. Amazing photos Amy. Love the rain off the side building. It’s in a steady rain pattern here for the past wwe are in a seek. Temps nearing the three digits broken by huge electrical storms in the afternoon. Stay safe!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am staying safe, Holly. The weather has been very hot, humid, wet and yep wild. I usually do not even listen to or read the National Weather Report but instead listen to my inner Guidance. Sure enough the one day I do look at the weather report it is wrong. My “hunch” even before I began that bike ride said … looks like rain, Ame. And sure enough … You stay safe too. And cool! Much Love to you! 😓🌹

      Like

  2. We often wonder if the weather service buys windows for the forecaster’s offices. The picture of the rain on the barn is so interesting. There’s so much going on there.

    I don’t like riding my bike in the rain. I’ve been caught a few times, but I generally avoid the chance if I can.

    My favorite part was: “I just had to stop to take pictures of what I saw …” of course you did, Amy, of course you did 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, don’t you just love that barn picture, Dan? I so agree with you. I just could not tear my eyes from all that was going on. Darn it but it was just so otherworldly! It was a miracle I actually went to get my Canon. I deliberately shot a little out of focus to get the “feel” of what I was experiencing. And I shot through a screen to get the effect as well. (wink) Now you have me telling you all my secrets. LOL Even though there was violent weather all around me I felt so transported into another world, one of mystic and beauty.

      Riding in rain on bike? Nope, that is where I draw the line. And I had to laugh out loud about what you said …. of course I would take pictures.

      By the way, how did you manage to get bold print in this editor? What do you know that I don’t? It was so cool to see that.

      Off we go now to get me a proper riding seat. Mine I have now is SO uncomfortable which dictates I turn to go home sooner then my legs would like to. I’ll see you over at your house later. ☺️😜🐾💝

      Like

    1. Hi, Irene!! I’ve not spoken with Claire in a while so I pray you are getting stronger and she is doing well too! Just think soon, dear friend, you will feel the breeze on your cheeks and in your hair, and you’ll be surrounded by your beloved four footed Angels. I’m pretty sure you are younger then I am and if I’m biking …. well then, you certainly can too. Just sayin’ …. 😘

      Like

      1. Thanks Amy. Claire is okay and I do get stronger day by day. My body react more slowly than my brain, so now I walk, but not correct yet. Hurrah for my therapist, as I have used almost a half year. She will get more to do now, and I know that she can.
        I don’t have a bike here in Spain, but just to be able to walk and sit by the beach and enjoy the fresh breeze is enough for me. I’m a little younger than you, but not that much, dear friend.
        And after so long time in UCI my body and mind need to start all over again.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Slow and steady, Irene. Baby steps and before you know it, you will have regained your strength. I was not walking for almost 2 years when 2 back surgeries failed leaving me in such agony that I could not weight bear on my legs. When I realized I was slowly dying, I reached way down inside of myself, and dragged me out of bed and taught myself how to walk again. Today I am riding a bike almost 15 miles (it will be even more with my new bike seat!), and I’m hiking up to 7 miles. My legs are the strongest they have ever been. Oh yes it took a long time for me to get here, but the good news is, I got here!!! And so will you! HUGS to you this fine day, dear friend! 😘😘😘

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, Van. Tornados are not the norm here nor are Monsoon like rains. It has been a very unusual summer weather wise. The greens on the other hand due to all the wet are SOOOOOOOO unbelievable gorgeous. Oh be still my heart! Some areas actually are beginning to look tropical. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. There’s no trusting the weather reports these days.
    I don’t think they ever get the forecast right.
    One thing is certain, however, I am happy you and
    your family are staying safe through this rather unpredictable
    weather season.
    Fabolous photos Amy, great story too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Eddie, this is precisely why I normally do not pay any attention to the weather reports. They honestly do not know what they are taking about! That day, however, I did peek yet my Guidance was telling me something else when I saw the sky. Yes we are safe and it is a miracle no one was hurt or killed during this violent weather we have been having. Thank you regarding my images. ☺️💝

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Stunning shots, dear Amy. I know it’s bad when a rain like that catch you, but your second shot is beautiful. That one with so much water coming down on your barn roof. And those threatening clouds… nature is fabulous.
    Take care, dear Amy ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Monica, I am taken away by that barn shot. Just standing looking out my window that day had me feeling as if I had entered another world. That is the feeling I wanted to portray and it seems (I hope) I succeeded. Yes Nature is fabulous I agree! There is always something to see and have my jaw drop in awe over. Always! ☺️ Much Love to you, dear friend! 💞

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I know I know, Melissa!!! Never a dull moment lately that is for sure. Keeping all fingers crossed my favorite park, Chestnut Ridge, will be reopened soon. It is closed right now because of all the damage and the clean up that is going on. And that is where I do all my hiking. Darn!!! Have a great weekend!! 💞

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I thought of you the second I heard that Chestnut Ridge was closed. So glad you didn’t find yourself in the middle of that storm! Although, I must admit I’m a bit amused by the image of you frantically peddling your bike through a tornado like Mrs. Gulch in the Wizard of Oz. Unlike her, you would have been taking photos the whole time.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What are the chances that my favorite park got hit by a tornado? Oh how I’m hoping the trail is OK and not that many trees are down. These trees are so old, CM, and huge! I shutter to think even one down. As for what you wrote you had me laughing out loud. But of course I’d be talking pictures. I mean we are talking a once in a lifetime opportunity. The day of those tornadoes in all seriousness I was not going anywhere! I’ve experienced a tornado once and once is enough! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I love your cloud photos. The tornado stories scared me. I hope too that nobody got hurt. I have a huge respect of those tornadoes because I am not used to them. 3 years ago when we drove from Buffalo to Boston we crossed an area with tornado warnings over the radio and I was scared to death…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tornadoes are nothing to fool around with, Erika, and you had every right to be scared. I’ve experienced one right here in this house we live in and never ever do I want to go through that again! I’m just so grateful that no one was hurt or killed even when the National Weather Service was so wrong in their reports with these latest tornadoes.
      And thank you about my cloud pictures. Our clouds lately have been very very dramatic, just up my ally! LOL 😉🌹

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you for this confirmation. Tornados are one of those out of control forces that scare me. I was the only one terrified in that car. All the others made fun of me but I did not care. It was scary. I am glad although you cam so close to one all went well. Nature is still stronger than us and we should always be humble about that.
        Oh, and I can relate to your love for dramatic clouds… hehe! 💖

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not quite sure I understand, Amy. This post is about the tornadoes and floods we’ve had here. Is today a beautiful day? Yes for sure because every day I make a beautiful day. Have a great weekend! 😉💖

      Like

      1. Sorry… you made a beautiful day through your lens. These are great captures! Amazing shots of the sky, the cloudscape and the rain you captures. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

    1. All I can say must be nice to get paid for consistency being wrong. It’s a miracle no one was killed or hurt. In one of my videos I linked to this post, someone’s security camera caught their SUV actually being lifted up in the air and slammed against trees. Three thousand pounds looking like a toy. Wow! Have a great weekend, Marissa! 🍷

      Like

  7. How nice of Mother Nature to provide an amazing photo op! She had to give you something since she wasn’t letting you ride your bike!! We’ve been getting hammered here too, had an amazing lightning show last night and lots of rain. Stay dry!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m staying dry, Donna. For weeks on end whenever I went hiking it rained or when it did not it was so hot that either way I ended up soaking wet. I don’t mind getting wet except on my bike. Nope. Not doing it cause it is too dangerous and I have been given brains that I do use. And yes, the drama I have been seeing in Mother lately has been awesome! Have a great weekend! 🌈

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Your weather forecasters sound like ours Amy…always a bit of cloud, bit of sun, bit of wind…and oh, a bit of rain too 😀
    Thankfully we get very few tornadoes…just the odd cyclone to keep us on our toes 😀
    Nice shots, may your clouds only ever be the shady kind…with a bit of rain, sun and sometimes some wind 😀
    Enjoy your bike ride with the new seat 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hopefully, Mark, this wild weather will settle down. And hopefully my favorite park will reopen soon because my legs are itching for a hike. Hubby is doing the final stages to my bike today which means (hopefully) I’ll have it to ride no later by tomorrow. Today dawned bright and sunny and here I expected cloudy and threatening again because well, those forecasters said yesterday there *may be* another tornado. Unreal. I have several options ahead of me to enjoy the outdoors. I’ll know which one when my Heart says THIS ONE. Have a great day!! 😎🌸☺️

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Wow! The weather here has letting up too, with rains torrents, and light intermittently. It’s so cold, especially at night.

    Actually it is believed that around this time till up to August ending, the cold weather allows the fishermen to catch lots of fishes, and it is actually so, bumper harvests around this time. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Weather in so many places this year has been crazy! Yes I do believe that about fishing … the fishermen know here as well when to fish. Hope you had a great day! >3

      Like

    1. I am staying safe, Alifya. No tornadoes have come near my locality, just around me. And one hit my favorite park which I am so dreading to find out what damage was done. Thank you regarding my photos!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Weatheeer! That’s what my hubby and his nephew used to shout out every time a weather warning came across the tv back in our Texas hill country days. Mother Nature is one serious woman! Great weather shots Amy. Sorry about the bike ride. Weather is screwing with my walks and lighthouse climbs as well. 😏

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Amy love these photo’s and especially the one with the rain splashing down the roof.. seems our weathers are similar, minus the tornadoes of course .. Rain and showers, the sun peeks out and blue sky, then within minutes the clouds have swept in and it is causing flash floods in certain areas in the UK..
    It is really Autumnal right now to say it is only Aug the 1st .. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes here too, only this afternoon one side of our home had blue skies, while through the other side it was as black as night.. And then it hailed and thundered.. Very weird.. as storms no longer seem to brew.. They just form and happen in seconds.. One minute blue skies the next heavy rain..

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, I’ve seen the same here too. Reminds me of the torrential rains I witnessed in Florida years ago when it would open up and pour for a few minutes then back to blue skies. Just weird. Poor Mother is so confused due to what man has done to Her. IMO.

        Liked by 1 person

Precious Thoughts

