Fear

This was no joke.  My heart was pounding in avid fear.  And there was nothing I could do to change that fact.

With one eye in my rear view mirror, to my absolute horror I saw behind me the driver of a huge black F-250 pick-up truck wearing black shades and looking straight down at his lap.  His eyes were not even looking at the road, much less my car, but rather, directly at something on his lap.  My guess?  His iPhone.

I was traveling on a 4-lane highway going about 55mph (88kpm) that had no safe shoulder to pull over on so I could let this driver get ahead of me.  I never felt so powerless in my life as I drove with my heart in my throat.  With every ounce of energy I had I willed that truck not to hit me.

Not really believing what I was actually seeing because it was just so bizarre, my now sweaty hands gripped the steering wheel.  I steeled myself ready for an impact.  I had no way of getting this man’s attention or of getting away from him.  Traffic was heavy and besides I was making a right hand shortly ahead to turn into a plaza.

I still do not know how that man was driving.  I did the only things I could think of.  First I kept a huge distance between the car ahead of me in case that truck would rear end me.  Secondly, I also became super aware where my feet were, where my brake is and as well, my right hand was ready to fly to the gear shift in case I had to gear down very quickly.  I drive a VW CC with a manual transmission which sits low to the ground.  With that huge truck practically on top of me he probably would have driven right over me if a sudden stop had happened.  *shudder*  When my turn off approached I put my right blinker on wayyyyyyyyyy ahead of what I normally do and I lightly tapped my brakes hoping that the shaded driver behind me would actually see that I was about to turn.

I was never so relieved to arrive at a destination. What would you have done?  Is there a way to even get the attention of someone like this?  I’ll tell you what I will try to do next time IF I see someone do this.  While at a red light I will take a picture of the idiota behind me and hopefully the license plate.  From there I go to the police.  Would they even take me seriously?  Oh my heavens, I would hope so!  My stomach turns over just thinking how I’m out on the road on my bike.  After witnessing this insanity, I’m now a bit shaky about getting back on my bike.

PLEASE DO NOT TEXT AND DRIVE

Photography/ “Fear”/ July 2017©AmyRose
http://www.herladypinkrose.wordpress.com

About the photograph:  I chose this image of a rabbit I captured because the metaphysical meaning of rabbit is fear.  Hence, rabbit to go along with what I wrote.  There is a story behind this picture.  This little guy met me on a path in a park and refused to run away.  I was astonished!  He acted like he wasn’t even scared of me.  Even while taking multiple pictures there he sat about 5-6 feet (1.5-1.8M) away from me.  He still did not move as I quietly moved on down the path.  Pinch me!!  I have more coming next week (hopefully) telling you about this most unusual day I recently had.

💞😘💞

 

72 thoughts on “Fear

      1. Susan, your link that is connected with your name is for the other blog, the trainer blog. Is there a way you cold change this link so that I can get to your present blog? 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I enjoyed this post, Amy; the terror of the dangerous driver and the fearless symbol of fear who just wanted to be with you. It’s a wide scope we live in, bringing up challenges every day. I think you did the exact right thing with the driver, and I am so grateful you arrived safely at your destination.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jet. I honestly couldn’t believe what this man was doing. I’m always in control when I drive or at least I do my very best to be in control. This incident deeply shook me especially as I am on roads sitting on a bicycle. It’s insane what some drivers are doing! And yeah that rabbit was incredible! He was actually easy to shoot because he just sat there posing for me. Have a great weekend! 💖

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Egads! You need to stay off those busy highways.— you cannot compete with traffic like that. Good thing you had the sense to figure out how to handle that situation; you could have been flattened …….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mom, that is the only way I can go to where I was headed. Honestly? Most roads locally have become so congested with traffic due to the population explosion. One literally must drive with eyes in the back of the head. Good thing I think quickly in most situations. 💖🌹💖

      Like

  3. Fear is a reasonable response to inattentive drivers in big trucks, Amy Rose. I survived two of them, and my little car did, too. It’s one of the reasons I don’t like to drive (or ride a bicycle).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Carol! Im so sorry you experienced this nightmare. Thank goodness you are OK. I’ve got some figuring to do because I refuse to allow fear to steal the joy of riding a bike from me. But I must be safe. May your weekend be Blessed! 🌹

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow! Terrible, Amy. I am glad you’re well. Driving with your heart in your throat is not a nice feeling. I do not know if your police would do something, but here, I am very sure they would do nothing.

    Hahaha! A very brave rabbit.

    Mo-hugs and kisses ❤
    Take care, my Amy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Monica, I’ve had unpleasant experiences with the police and I have a feeling as you said nothing would be done. But if I at least don’t try how would I know? More of us need to stand up for what is right! And yes a very brave rabbit indeed. Have a great weekend! 💖🌹💖

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Wow, sounds like a scary experience! I know things are bad on the road when I start looking in my rear view mirror more than the from windshield! I’ve seen people reading and texting while driving . . . for heaven’s sake! Glad to know you are alright, besides the fright! Nice rabbit, brave one at that too!!
    Take care!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The stupidity of people leads to others getting hurt or killed. I never want to experience what I did again. Ever! Now that I’ve witnessed this I must think how to ride my bike more safely. The drivers are nuts … not all mind you. But I have no protection out on the road on my bike other then my helmet. Nothing else. When younger it seems as if we just take something like this lightly. Not any more. I will firmly state no one will steal my joy from me when I ride my bike! Have a great weekend, Donna! 💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Donna, I know I have Angels around me 24/7 yet that being said, I cannot account for what others choose to do. I’m taking my bike riding more seriously now as I contemplate which routes are the safest for me to travel on. Have a wonderful Sunday! 🌹

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Amy I’m so glad this turned out ok for you. So frightening. It seems the highways are becoming more and more dangerous with texting and other distractions. It is particularly infuriating to me as a biker. Many drivers do not respect the limitations of motorcycles , we cannot stop on a dime. Stop trying to beat us through the intersection. It also seems so many people are leaving the scene of an accident which is unforgivable and can mean the difference in Life and death. Wake up people we are talking about your life and our life. What is more important, saving ten minutes in arriving at you r destination? It will still be there , will you?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aw, Holly. You totally get this as you are on the road with nothing but a helmet to protect you. It’s shocking what I’m seeing on the roads. I always give motorcycles a lot of room always. I’ve been on one and know how dangerous riding can be with the stupid idiots driving. People like you and me must start speaking out and standing up for what is right. I’m not sure if the police would do anything if I was able to get a picture of idiot and license. But if I don’t at least try I’ll never know. Now here I am having to rethink things on what routes to drive my bike on. What a hassle! But I will not let anyone take my joy from me that I derive riding my bike! Simple as that! Have a good weekend and stay safe!! 💖🌹💖

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I agree completely, I am so glad you are ok and that you will not let this interfere with your freedom to enjoy your recreation and getting out in nature. It’s a scary place out there though, so many huge vehicles and young people and old texting, eating, putting on make, yikes ❤ ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. There are times in heavy traffic that I will not even change the radio station. My eyes are glued to what is happening ahead of me to the left of me to the right of me and behind me. Eyes everywhere. And no I will not quit riding my bike. No way. We’re talking about getting a bike rack to put on hubby’ s truck so we can go riding on quiet country roads and in parks we like. Just to get to a quiet place to ride I must ride on our busy street in order to get to my destination. I fly as fast as I can believe me in order to get off our street. Sigh. Our street used to be a quiet country road. No longer true.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That’s a good idea, it is so beautiful to ride in the peaceful country side. Just the other day a biker was hit and killed , was wearing a helmet, left on the side of the rode to die. That makes me sick.!

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Hear hear…that’s essential, but as a defensive driver who survived a catastrophic car crash on my way to work when an inebriated driver ran a red light, we need people to wake up and realize a car can be a deadly weapon in with a careless driver behind the wheel.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My husband finally and I mean finally woke up to admit no more will he drink and drive even when he drank within the legal limit. Now he has beer at home and to be truthful I can breathe. You have no idea how bad it was for me knowing he was at a bar. So peeps are waking up because hubby needless to say is a slow learner. And OMG thank God you are alive after that accident. OMG! HUGS! 💕🌻🌼💕

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Terrifying. I once got pulled over because I barely stopped at a stop sign. I told the cop the reason was because the girl in the car behind me was texting and had almost rear-ended me at the last stop sign, so I stopped but didn’t stay. From the look on his face, the cop wished he had pulled her over instead of me. He let me go on my way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Wow, CM!! So you really know what it feels like. I just felt so helpless like a sitting duck ready to get blasted. And I thank you for the encouragement about how that cop reacted when you told him what was happening. I’m very serious about getting a picture of anyone I see texting and their licence plate. I believe the time has come for the citizen to assist our police who cannot be everywhere at once. This insanity of texting while driving has to be stopped! BIG HUGS! 🌹

      Like

      1. Oh, I know how it feels, all right. I actually was rear-ended on another occasion while waiting to make a left turn. I looked up and saw a car behind me approaching fairly quickly and the young driver looking down at the seat instead of at the road. Before I could react, I was hit. Fortunately, my car was much bigger and sustained only minor damage, and no one had any injuries.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. And you also must know why I am so very concerned now about me riding my bike. This incident shook me up more then I’d like to admit. Thank goodness you were OK with that rear end crash. Things could have been a lot worse.

        Like

    1. I did what i could in that situation, Dan, but it just didnt seem enough because that guy never stopped looking at his lap. Not once did his full face look towards the road at least not what I saw. And yeah that bunny was incredible not having any fear towards me! Wow! 🌹

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not sure, David, about who is driving these cars lately but what I am seeing is really scary. I’m still figuring out a route to get safely out of my own driveway when on my bike. Honestly! 🌸

      Like

  8. That was a scary for life and death situation . I am not sure what would much different than getting out of the way as you did get to your turn. The picture is a good choice. I can feel the fear or a very high alert in their eyes..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wish to never repeat this experience again, YellowCable. I just hope that all who read this post walk away thinking about how dangerous texting is when driving. Have a wonderful Sunday! 💞

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I hope your message gets spread around. People have tendency to interact with other as soon as possible, just like you are sitting together and talk. With these modern technologies, you are virtually close to every one anywhere and anytime thus want to interact immediately 🙂

        Like

  9. That’s really scary Amy, as a non driver and very verbal backseat driver, hubby and I have had our fare share of close calls, and seen some really stupid things done by some drivers on our roads. Our main motorways are overloaded and every time we drive somewhere, we pray for a good drive without – accidents.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Our roads have gotten very congested too, Karen. Where I live there are many country roads that really need to be expanded, having no shoulders as country roads do. Many housing subdivisions have exploded and as a result too many cars are on these roads. Today being sunny I again go out on my bike but have as yet to figure out which direction to go. How sad it has come to this. Have a great Sunday! 💝

      Like

  10. I’m hoping in future car designs that the phones are blacked out while ever your in the drivers seat Amy. Or better still, if both hands aren’t on the steering wheel, after a couple of seconds allowing for gear changes etc, the engine acceleration automatically drops back to zero. Soon get frustrated if your trying to text 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOVE the way your mind works, Mark. This texting while driving is totally out of control and I really HOPE and PRAY car manufacturers come up with ways to prevent anyone from texting. Your ideas are great!! You should write a few large car companies and tell them your ideas. The idea of both hands on the wheel would be frustrating for me because I drive a standard transmission and many times only have one hand on the steering wheel especially when I am slowing down and gearing down getting ready to stop. I just don’t go from 6th gear to neutral. No. I gear down one by one until I get to 2nd then I slip it into neutral as I wait at the red light. So that must be taken into consideration. But you are on the right track! Have a great Sunday, dear friend! 🌸

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Actually I wasn’t shaking at all, Erika, just so relieved to arrive safely. I did however, talk a lot and a few expletives slipped out of my mouth which instead of being embarrassed about I laughed about and began a discussion how many words in England are acceptable that really are not here. LOL That is how I showed my after shock. My mouth! 🤣

      Liked by 1 person

  11. So glad you’re okay, Amy. Defensive driving is an acquired skill, and not one that I take for granted. I’ve been tailgated way too many times, no matter my speed. I have often wished for some sort of rear-sounding horn or alarm to get their attention…stepping on the brakes does not always work, especially if one’s attention is diverted. Don’t text and drive…indeed !!! Be safe out there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I too would like to see a device on the rear of cars that sounds an alarm or flashes a light when a vehicle gets too close. How about a camera to take pics when a driver is too close to get the license plate number? Not sure if that will do any good though. I detest tailgaters and I too lightly tap the brakes when someone is on top of me. Back off!! OMG that is so dangerous! I took driver’s ed as a kid and to this day what I learned has stuck. I learned to drive defensively (I admit when young and foolish I did not). I will be safe out there in my car and on my bike. You be safe, too, Van! 🌹

      Like

  12. Unfortunately, Amy I experience that kind of situations almost every day. There are a lot of such an idiots on the roads today. Recently my friends daughter had a very serious accident because of testing person behind her on highway. Car was destroyed and went to the garbage. Thanks God she wasn’t hurt seriously.
    I think the penalty for that kind of negligence is too low.
    I am glad you are safe.
    Bunny is the good choice to relax and forget about the trouble.
    Have a nice day!

    Like

  13. This is precisely why I cannot bring myself to ride on the roads…or for that matter, even walk. I love to do both, but in this age of distraction, doing so is taking your life out of your hands and placing it into another’s . I’ve also found that some drivers like to play the How-Close-Can-I-Get-without-hitting-you game, so I walk in parks and ride in the gym 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The problem where I live, Mor, is in order to even get out of my driveway I must ride on a busy street. I’ve been riding around to see how best to get to quiet areas but still I must travel on some very busy streets. I only choose those with a wide enough paved shoulder that I can have plenty of room between myself and the traffic. I also have very very bright lights on both front and rear of my bike which alerts drivers HEY biker here! You should see how these cars really swerve to give me room. Cool! I will not allow fear to take my JOY regarding bike riding away from me!! Much Love to you! 🌸

      Liked by 1 person

Precious Thoughts

