Hold On Tight

LR -3544

In the times Life becomes
fast and furious
hold on tight
to the Light
which keeps you grounded
~~~~

Photography/Digital Art/ “Hold On Tight” July 2016©AmyRose
@www.herladypinkrose.wordpress.com

Friends, lately I have become so frustrated with the results I am getting from my camera.  It is not taking clear, crisp photos anymore.  At first I thought it was me due to all I have been going through, but I did some test shots yesterday.  It’s not me.  My camera is slowly loosing it’s focusing ability and the camera I have been drooling over for well over one year will now be mine.  My present camera, a Canon 50D, was bought used.  And no, I will not be repairing it.  I deserve an upgrade.

Here is the perfect opportunity I have been waiting for in order for hubby to agree it is time for me to get a new camera.  We are so careful with expenses because our overhead is so high, most of our funds going towards bills and taking care of our precious fur kids.  Yes we have saved, but both of us hesitate to touch that.  Well, now I am touching it.  My new camera will be the Canon 6D.

80 thoughts on “Hold On Tight

    1. Thank YOU, Jodi. There has been some “drama” today in which hubby changed his mind about the camera, we had words, I became quiet, he thought, and then just now he agreed with me my choice is a good one. Friday should be the day it is ordered. Oh for the JOY!!!! I cannot wait! I tried to use hubby’s camera body today (a rebel) but I do not like it. Uh uh. But I did get a few pics. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t either, Amy. I ran my camera through some test shots yesterday and yes, my camera is most definitely dying. It’s been doing some funny things as well with the battery. I’ve had this camera for many years, bought used, so it has seen a lot of use. I am excited about this new camera and hopefully I’ll be purchasing it today. I’ll be on over to see you in a bit. It’s been hectic here (again). ❤

      Like

  1. Well, you certainly deserve to splurge every once in a while and this is something important to you! I hope your new camera takes you to places that you never were before. This picture was a very happy accident by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This picture was no accident, Marissa. I worked hard to get that water lily as you see it. Yes I played in the editing room. And as for splurging … this is a must for me to get this camera as the one I am using is dying. Oh, I cannot wait!

      Like

  2. Fun times ahead with a new camera!!! You will be amazed how good equipment really does make a difference. Not that your images aren’t wonderful now, but every time I get something new, I see a difference in my stuff. Happy Dance for you Amy! Oh and lovely dreamy image. :))))

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Looking so forward to this!!! Friday is the day we get it ordered. Hubby being involved in finishing our front door he installed wants to be there when I order this camera. Of course he will want to look at it, examine it, and then say, “Great choice, Amy!” 😉 Men!! So I wait!!! LOL ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m looking forward to see results taken with your new camera, Amy 🙂
        I use my mobile now, a little more difficult, but possible. I’m not much at Facebook in this time. Not from my mobile.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t noticed any photos that I would complain about, but I’ll assume those all hit the cutting room floor. I am happy that you are getting a new camera, and I look forward to thise pictures, Amy.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s been a slow dive, Dan, one that has had me so frustrated. The f/stops, the shutter speeds, the clarity all not working right and to have gotten the pics I did with the camera I did as is, and then what I did in the editing room, proves to myself that I am pretty good at what I do. Last night hubby seemed to give me the “green light” regarding expenses for this new camera but today a different story. So I am using his camera body (a rebel) until he finally stops giving me a hard time. He panics when we spend a lot of money and this camera + lens = >$2K. That is a lot of money. So, meanwhile, I create magic with his body (camera only!) and my lenses. I took a few test shots today with his camera body + my lens and yep, there she is, the pics I have become accustomed to seeing. I feel like an idiot for announcing HEY I am getting the 6D. I will. 😉 But not just now, not until hubby can come to terms with parting with all those dollars. Just know that what I can do with his camera will be even better then what you have been seeing lately. That I promise!!! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It IS going to happen. I know too. 🙂 The man needs to get used to the idea of letting go of those dollars, that’s all. In all seriousness we spend so much money on these precious cats we really must be careful with our spending. So that being said, the man also knows how much photography means to me especially this camera. So, yes it will happen. 🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

    2. Well, that didn’t take long. I’m getting the 6D. Hubby is involved in putting the finishing touches on our new front door he installed yesterday. Friday should be the day we order the camera+lens. Thank YOU for the prayers. I knew it would happen. You have no idea how much this camera means to me. It will be in memory of my Karma. *tears*

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Kathy, big expenses for me do not come along much so when they do, hubby does get nervous. But then he settles down and knows how important this is to me. So Friday is the day we order. He wants to be involved in this process and right now he is still installing our new front door. Busy summer for the both of us!!! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Not as bad as I thought, thank goodness. Thanks for asking. Putting it in, and getting the old one out was quite noisy and now there is only the occasional hammer and saw noise. Things are looking up. 🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Amy. I’m planning to get a new camera also. I’m going to look into something simple for my purposes, but a better zoom than what I have. A fellow blogger recommended a Nikon Coolpix P900. Hopefully we have it in Canada. Good-luck with your camera shopping. For me a new camera is a creative necessity, not a treat. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Olga, a camera is a necessity for me as well. It is my therapist, my friend, my way to Center and Calm. I couldn’t live without a camera at this point in my life. I have a Samsung mirrorless but it is not a very good camera. Until I get my 6D I am using hubby’s camera body which is a Canon rebel. I have no knowledge about Nikon so I cannot help you there. I wish you all the best though!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is a beautiful shot Amy. I hope you get your new camera and enjoy it immensely. Photographic equipment is quite costly and I always carefully consider every item I buy, and like you don’t really have the money to splurge.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Karen, how so very kind of you to leave this comment. And thank you on the compliment. Yes I was very pleased by how this image came out and how I played in the editing room with it. And about equipment … What I would like and what I can afford are two separate lists. I know we can afford the camera I picked out so it is just a matter of time when hubby gets used to the idea of parting with that many dollars. Last evening he wasn’t fazed when I told him the price but today well, today it’s a different story. It’ll happen. We really must be careful with our funds a well. Some day I “see” myself actually making some money from my Art. Now? That has to wait. 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank YOU for the confirmation, YellowCable. This has not been easy to choose, but I wanted to go with a full frame camera. The price between the Mark lll and the 6D is a lot, so I chose the 6D. I am SO excited about this!!! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 6D is actually the next generation sensor than 5D MKIII. It has better noise performance than the 5D MKIII. You will love it. However, you probably know if you have EF-S lenses then they won’t fit 6D.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know, YC. I have EF lenses. The one EF-S lens I do have hubby is getting for his Rebel. You really made me feel good because I had in my head that the 5D Mark lll was better then the 6D. I’m so pleased with myself for making the selection I did. I wanted an f/2.8 24-70ll lense but the price on that baby is sky high. I was told the f/4 on the lens that I am getting with this camera will work just as good with the 6D except for bokeh. No problem. My macro lens is an f/2.8 and with my landscape photography I’m not as interested in bokeh as I am with my macro. So, all the way around, I am truly truly happy and SO excited!!! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  6. So…….. go big!!! go bold!!!!!
    Camera type is usually about compatible lens you already use.
    Best of Joy!!!
    . You are making it happen.
    Let the Good times roll!!
    ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have the lenses, Michael, and getting another as well. For me for now my ensemble is complete with this new camera. My camera I have now is actually making it happen because it is slowly dying. Oh, yes, dear friend, I intend fully to “make this happen” as in let the good times roll!! Dear heavens, I of anyone knows how much I truly deserve this!!! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Precious Thoughts

