Faith

LR edited (1 of 1)-3

In choosing the Path
we put our feet upon
we learn to lean on Faith
as while not knowing
what lies ahead
our strong conviction
in our Faith
in return gives us Peace
and Confidence in our Choice.
~~~~~

Photography/ “Faith” 2016©AmyRose
@www.herladypinkrose.wordpress.com

[Comments Open.]
~~~~~

The next series of posts coming will contain photographs from an off-road trail in Chestnut Ridge County Park that were taken with my Samsung Galaxy S6 Phone.  I spent many hours editing these photographs because of the fact with my Samsung I loose depth perception and distance, especially shooting snow scenes.  I must figure out a way to safely bring my Canon on this trail, which to be truthful, was downright treacherous in places.  One fall, one slip, and both me and my Canon would be hurt.  I hope that with the accumulated snowfall that will be here, the treacherous cliffs will be more manageable in soft snow versus mud, ice, and snow.

I had first planned on putting all the photographs on one post with a “text” conversation between my sister and I that I had while on this trail.  I am so deeply grateful to my sister for the fact that she was available when I did text her, which in turn made me feel a whole lot more confident and not so alone on this trail that was very rough going at times.  Thanks, Sis!!!  Even though she received the unedited version of my adventure, I omitted the expletives that came flying out of my mouth when I saw certain parts of the trail that lay ahead of me.  (smile)

This photograph was towards the beginning of the trail.  The downed trees were huge laying horizontally very close to the ground, forcing me as I went under them to stoop down so I would not hit my head.  I can only imagine the gorgeous images I would be able to get in this area of the park with both my Canon and with a few feet of snow.  In the meantime, please enjoy what is coming this week, and the explanations from me of whereabouts I was on the trail itself.

60 thoughts on “Faith

  1. Wonderful Verse Amy… May your Faith always remain strong and steadfast… Sending you love, and this is a beautiful image… We may be scheduled for a little colder weather here too at the end of the week… We need our Winter to become Winter again.. Far far too much rain in this warm unusual Mild winter, where Nature is confused right now as blossoms bloom and daffodils are out a couple of months ahead of time…
    Looking forward to your adventures in the snow.. But do take care..
    Love Sue xxx ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. SO happy you enjoyed this, Sue!! It has turned frigid here, with temps in the teens and snow is predicted to fall soon. This weather is just so nuts, here it being the middle of January and it looks like November! Even the sky does not look Winter to me. I’m putting the post together today, at least one more. I have all images edited but 2, so I have still more work to do there. Life itself has still been challenging, but I am making sure I am taking time for me. You take care too!!! Love you!! (((HUGS))) Amy ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Marissa, most people have no idea what some photographers go through just to get good images. I LOVE to hike, yet this trail in places could be considered dangerous, as you will come to understand in the forthcoming posts. By the end of the week here, we should have a lot of snow, so the equipment I do have and the clothes, will come in handy. I am very careful where I place my feet and how when I am going down or up a steep incline. You’ll see what I am talking about. 🙂 Love, Amy ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL SOOOO many “be carefuls” today!!! Oh boy, when you see what is coming …. Just know I am strong, I am in shape, and I really am careful. I have feet like a goat. LOL

        Like

    1. Thank you, Amy, and I have the perfect outer gear this year to stay warm. I even have something to put on my face IF the temps get too low. Not to worry. I am set!!! Love, Amy ❤

      Like

    1. Ah, but there were ski tracks, LOL, just not on this part of the this trail! The snow mobilers were out, as well as the skiers. Lots of folk about walking too, like me. The other day when I went to the same park, the snow was melting and there were actually Sheriffs guarding the entrance in case anyone with snow mobiles tried to get in. Yes there was still enough snow to snow mobile but lots of road where there was no snow … and man that will destroy asphalt in a jiffy!! Some people would attempt to get those howling machines in that park with just sparse snow but the Sheriffs would have none of it. YAY for the law!!! Love, Amy ❤

      Like

  2. I love the backstory on this about your sister and the conversations. What a fantastic idea!! You are so blessed with family you can do things like this with and both enjoy. Thank you for sharing! Lovely light in this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Laura, yes I am Blessed to have my sister in my Life. We have renewed our relationship since our Dad died last January. I want SO badly to share my photo shoots with someone, and seeing I am alone when I go, it is like Manna from Heaven to be texting my sister while sending her pictures I am taking. I do that a lot and even though she doesn’t always respond, she still comes along with me. That day I really was alone on a very challenging trail, and at times I was scared. I’ve figured out how to make the going safer except for one spot and that I need very cold temperatures to freeze the creek. That story coming up. I really worked this image because with my Samsung I am not getting the depth perception nor the contrast like I do with my Canon, so I focused on targeting the path with light. I’m learning and yes I am happy with these results. This one and the ones coming literally are taking me hours to edit as I am both doing new and I am editing some pictures that I wish were taken with my Canon. I do have a vest to wear for my Canon and I do have a covering to put on both lens and camera BUT that covering is not 100% waterproof in case I fall. My ice spikes I will be wearing on my boots should help with the falling on the inclines. I just have to figure out how to safely traverse the creek. When you see the pictures coming, you will understand better. 🙂 Love, Amy ❤

      Like

      1. I put my cellphone of DATA versus wifi so that IF I fall the signal from my phone can be picked up. I also have emergency numbers to call as well. I AM careful, Laura, I promise you, although what you will be seeing in what I did on this trail will probably make you want to wring my neck. Hehehehehe Oh yes there is a wee bit of daredevil in me, but BUT I honestly did NOT know this trail beforehand nor what I was getting myself into!!! LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I saw something at Cabella’s that I might buy, Laura. It is a satellite phone to use in places where there are no signals and that phone’s signal is extremely accurate. We’ll see. I can get connection with my Data on my phone right now at Chestnut. I must warn you. What you will see coming at Petals as in what I did, don’t get upset. I took some chances, Laura, which I won’t be doing again until the ground is good and solid frozen. I honestly did not know what this trail was like. But the pictures were worth it. LOL There is no way I would even want hubby to come with me becuase he would be grumbling all the way and wanting to turn around like a wuss. Hehehehehehe I’m just so relieved I was not hurt nor do I plan on getting hurt either. Until that ground is good and solid I stick to the roads. Promise! ❤

        Like

      3. Wow…I can’t wait to see you hanging off a cliff with your nails dug into the side of the cliff!! hahaha Sorry…I can’t stop laughing. You crack me up! I do think a constant connection with civilization is a must for you LOL.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Hehehehehe I just about was clinging to sheer shale with my fingernails. I’m glad you are laughing. Whew!! I thought for sure you would wring my neck when you see what is coming. LOL Oh man, some of the things I do for a photograph. Honestly!!!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Irene. Sometimes my sister doesn’t get the passion I feel about photography, but by texting her with my remarks, I’m really getting her to SEE like I do. And she is really enjoying it! Maybe some day we can do these trails together, my sister and me!!! So glad you enjoyed this, my friend! Love, Amy ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Kathy, wait until you see what is coming. I’m either very courageous or should get my sanity checked. LOL I honestly did not know what lay ahead and by looking at this picture you would think nothing but serene was ahead. Hmmmm …. appearances can be deceiving. Now granted I did get some incredible photographs and now that the weather has turned bitter cold and the snow has finally begun oh YES I will be bringing my Canon on this trail and others as well. I can DO this!!! Thank you from the bottom of my Heart for your encouragement and your friendship!!! Love, Amy ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. We have a LOT of snow forecasted here, Dan, beginning I believe tomorrow. We had Gale winds here yesterday with about once inch on the ground of snow, yet as I look south of here, the clouds are black … And that means snow. My Park is out that way so I can only imagine what it looks like right now. I’m not going today … Too cold. I am warm when I am out there and I am doing all I can to stay safe. I am not about to fall and get hurt or to break my camera for that matter. I have snow spikes for the bottom of my boots that are now going on and if I can figure out how to safely traverse one area of this trail …. I got it covered. When you see what is coming, you will understand that this trail in places can be treacherous. Hope you are having a great day!! Love, Amy ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, Raewyn, there is always a way through. You are so right. Life can be very harsh at times, yet when we pass through those times, we always bring something with us as we expand our definition of who we are. I’m so glad you enjoyed this post today. Love, Amy ❤

      Like

  3. You should invest in a pair of spiked boots maybe! You can walk all over bears with them, and grip through ice so you can bring your Canon… Don’t you have a cushioned road sack? Have you thought of buying a drone? I’ll bet The Net has instructions for making your own drone! And they can go where people can’t 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do have ice spikes to put on my boots, I kid you not!!! I also have a vest to carry my Canon in at chest level and a rain cover to put on my camera BUT it is not totally waterproof. A drone. Huh. What’s the fun in that when I want to hike for the excitement and thrill? To know I have conquered fear and snow and mud and hills …. now that beats a drone any day!!! LOL Love you!!! (((HUGS))) Amy ❤

      Like

    1. Agreed, YellowCable. I have all parts but one of this trail covered for my safety because I will be wearing ice spikes on the bottom of my hiking boots. What I don’t have figured is the part where the trail becomes the creek. I must wait for very cold temperatures so that the creek is frozen solid. I will not risk a fall nor will I risk a fall with my Canon. It’s not worth it. Yes the pictures are phenomenal, and IF I have to only take them with my Samsung, that is what I will do. The chances I took as it is already, are enough. Now when I do hike this trail, I will have the proper equipment because now I know what it is like. The creek from my perspective is my toughest concern right now. Things will work out IF they are meant to. Simple as that! 🙂 ❤ Love, Amy ❤

      Like

    1. God is the cornerstone of my Life. I have many posts that say this, just the wording a bit different so as to speak to an audience that is diverse. All are welcome here to Petals regardless of religion or faith. I believe that Living the Word as I do moves mountains. May you have a Blessed Day! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Precious Thoughts

