Between A Hard Rock and A Hard Place

LR edited (1 of 1)-11

Due to not doing research properly on Spectracide Triazidcide Insect Killer/ For Lawns & Landscapes, I am now contemplating on digging up all my Roses.  Why?  Bert, you are right.  This spray will kill bees.  I am doing everything I can to save the bees, and I have now sprayed a chemical on my Roses that will kill the bees, along with the parasites that kill Roses.  I am in tears.  These parasitic insects have gotten so out of control, nothing is stopping them.  Will I add to the death of bees?  No.

I’m in a hard rock and a hard place.  We received about 3 inches of rain over the weekend.  Is that enough to wash this chemical off, or is it already in my Roses?  I took the word of a horticulturist without doing my own research, and now I have a real mess on my hands.  If anyone has any suggestions as to what I can do other then digging up my Roses, please let me know in the comments.  You have no idea just how awful I feel.

Photography/ “Between A Hard Rock And A Hard Place” 2105©AmyRose

66 thoughts on “Between A Hard Rock and A Hard Place

  1. I have Roses that have been in the yard since Grandma lived here. So these are before the famous KNOCKOUT Roses, I spray, on a dry day, a mix of essential oils, garlic and mint. I learned of such things from a California based product call Pharm Solutions. I now grow and mix my own stuff. I have to stay at it and I have to trim back affected areas. My Roses keep coming back, so i believe it is working. Good Luck

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You are a life saver!!! I am going to that site right now to order. I hope the heavy rains washed most of the spray off my Roses and will keep a close eye on the new growth to spray the organic spray. I have 32 roses bushes so this will be no easy task. I cannot thank you enough!!! Bless you!! I mean it!!! Love, Amy ❤

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Someone suggested an organic spray that I am looking at right now that will kill the parasitic insects, but not the beneficial ones. I am hoping that the heavy rains we just received have washed most of the spray off. What a mess!

      Like

    1. I don’t want to dig up my Roses, either, cuz to the east. I am looking right now at an organic spray that another commenter says she uses and it really works. OH how I hope the heavy rains we just got washed most of the spray off that we just put on. Oh, cuz, you don’t know how upset I am over all this. Well, I am learning to do my own research … that is for sure!!!

      Liked by 2 people

    1. I’ve tried that, Dan. I’m not using it because of the fact I have cats in my garden, and DE, when inhaled can do a lot of lung damage. I made sure everything was dry before any cats got near my gardens, so at least I can be assured all is OK. Also it really rained hard here so I am hoping that a lot of the spray washed off. Someone just suggested an organic site online, and I am looking at it right now. I mean I have tried everything, yet this I have not. What a mess!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I couldn’t find any information that the diatamatious earth was okay for bees. I started using it this year and did not think about the bee issue. I have been looking for confirmation that DE will not harm bees. It is great for insects when it isn’t raining so much. But all this rain can make the dust almost useless.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Yes I know. That and if you have animals outside that like to go into your gardens, DE is very sharp and can cause lung damage when inhaled. This is why I don’t use it.

        Like

    1. Someone just suggested an organic spray to use and I am checking it out right now. I am praying that the hard rain we just got has washed most of the spray that was just put on. Oh, YellowCable, you have no idea how bad I feel about all this. These insects for real, are out of control.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m looking, reading, and so far I am buying the product. Lisa, I am so upset over this, you just don’t know. Praying that the heavy rains we just got washed most of the spray off. Love, Amy ❤

      Like

      1. I just ordered it. I make my own soaps, with glycerin base, so if I can get the solution right, I can make my own. For now, I bought 1/2 gallon. Like I said I have a lot of Roses and it seems any new growth that is what these insects target. I will be on Rose patrol. So far none of my Roses have flowered, and the ones that are close, I will snip off those blooms so the bees will not be affected. Whew! YOU saved my Roses AND the bees. I honestly was contemplating on digging my Roses up. I cannot thank you enough!!! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I plan on using the Rose spray for those plants that suffer from rust and mildew. I am going to look further to see what other products this company offers as well. Good luck, Lisa!!! Love, Amy ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry this happened. I have read of people using vinegar for some gardening issues. The peralandra lady, from Find horn just talked to the plant devas to deal with any parasite problem.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I went over to your blog to follow you because of your kindness to me, but I saw it was just about empty. I hope to see posts from you soon. I plan on making my own spray as soon as I can. Thank you SO much again!! You literally saved me in more ways then one!!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. WP I learned on my own. I too LOVE the outdoors and prefer to be there then on this computer. If I can learn so can you. In the meantime, I will look out for your FB page. Tomorrow I will send you a friend request. Tonight I am shutting this thing down and must continue with my cat care. Love to you, Amy ❤

        Like

      2. Mary Rose, I followed you on FB but did not know how to send a friend request. I know I’ve done it, but it has been so long I have forgotten. Could you send me a friend request? I don’t think we are connected even though I am following you. Love, Amy ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Doing things truly organic requires much diligence. You will find that you may use a lot of the Pharm solution at times but, like you, I want to protect the bees and all that we are left stewards of. Don’t give up on it and stay true to the true organics of planting things together that protect one another. Remember to also not to be afraid to pick the little bug buggers off one by one with your hands. That works too. Timely but rewarding. If you test your soils you will know what to do naturally to keep up with the proper amounts of Nitrogen, Potassium and phosphorus that will protect your plants and keep them healthy. Healthy soil makes for healthy plants.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. If you could see how my gardens do grow you would know I have healthy soil. I use the horse manure from the horse next door to use for fertilizer and my gardens respond like no tomorrow. I know using something organic requires more work then chemicals, and when Life gets busy as it tends to do, I can forget to do the rounds, just like I forgot to spray my hanging baskets last evening with all natural deer repellent and bye bye flowers. So, yes, Mary Rose, I really know how time consuming this all is, and even though discouraged today, I will keep the good work up. (((HUGS))) Amy ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Amy, check out my facebook page. Mary Rose Noll-Hilkemeyer. I have posted there much of what i do. I am starting a Farmer’s Market. Actually, I started the journey a few years back. I started the WordPress a few years back as well. Now that I have a few years under my belt on doing my gardening without any pesticides, I am ready to share my info.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mary Rose, I hardly ever go to FB, but I will write your name down and send you a friend request. You can make sure I will be reading your information, because it is my goal to use no chemicals at all. I am learning step by step. I am so so grateful to you. Bless you over a hundred times for seeing my post. I’d say Angels were involved for you to see my post. (smile) Love, Amy ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I have to agree because I know nothing about blogging and my daughter gave me very few pointers today. you are the first site I came to and when you were talking about Roses…well…you had my ear…and my heart. I love my plants too. I love my veggies and trees and fruit bushes. So, I am thanking the Lord that i was able to help you. Sure, wish an angel would take over my WordPress. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have been in a very teary place today regarding my Dad who recently passed away, my Heart just so filled with huge pain. I am crying as I write this because I feel SO strongly that my Dad guided you over to me. He knows how much my gardens mean to me, as do the bees, so he stepped in to make sure I got help. Now I KNOW he will help you with WP. I KNOW. (((HUGS))) Amy ❤

      Like

    2. Again I am in tears as I write this, Mary Rose. I kept saying to myself today, how I would just LOVE to hear my Dad one more time. You seeing my site is like he calling me through you. Please follow me. If you don’t know how, ask your daughter. Or, just click on one of my posts right on Petals itself by clicking on the blue link next to my gravatar (you will see boxes with all my photography …. click on the title of any of them to open my site) and on my side bar to the right you will see a BLUE follow button. Push it. Voila. Simple. Now you are one of my followers. (((HUGS))) Amy ❤ …. Now really off of here to tend to my cats …. smiling …

      Liked by 1 person

      1. i feel the same as to my husband and his father and my father. Sometimes the information comes through loud and clear that we have a God that allows us to carry on our history….even if we are learning it through others…<3

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh thank goodness someone knew and you do not have to dig your beautiful roses up. This year we have an abundance of beautiful, fuzzy bumble bees visiting all of our plants and we are so happy to see them back.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ruth, I grow flowers specifically for the bees, butterflies and hummingbirds. To even think I would harm bees put me to tears. I am going to have a LONG talk with my brother who told me first of all that the product that was recommended by his friend a horticulturist, is not an herbacide but a very dangerous insecticide. I’ve been so caught up in taking care of some ill cats, a crisis that concerns the animal hospital our Vet works from (may be posting about that in a while), my gardens, dealing with my Dad, … that I just took my brother’s word for it. I did not research. Never again. No matter what is going on in my Life, I have to research so I know what is what. Hope all is well your way as well as with hubby. Sending both of you my Love, Amy ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Erika, it is so challenging to garden these days when you try to use only those products that are organic. I am still learning after doing this for years!!! Sorry to hear about your boxwoods. Love, Amy ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yey, it was a struggle. But this year they are growing like crazy. All the traces of the caterpillars are gone. It is amazing. I never saw them growing like that! Actually everything is thriving great theses days! I am sitting on my patio right now and can’t believe how blessed I am.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Everything is thriving here too, Erika, and growing so fast! It is as though everything is shouting I AM ALIVE after surviving such a brutal winter. May you have a glorious day, my friend! (((HUGS))) Amy ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  6. I like that organic tip come one left – and also wanted to chime in and just say that I think you will be okay for this one time – but you have such a sweet “heart” for the life lady rose ski 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I bought the solution for Roses, Kathy. And when they bloom, I will quickly take pics of the Roses, and then immediately cut them off for the duration this chemical is supposed to last. I don’t know what else to do. I will do my best, I promise you! Love, Amy ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Aw, Amy, don’t berate yourself, you just didn’t know. Lesson learned, and there is the silver lining. You will be very careful from now on and will thoroughly research anything before you do it. If you go completely organic, your garden will be all the better for it. Perhaps you can cover the roses and any nearby plants that may absorb run-off with a poly row cover until the chemical is out of the plant and soil? It may take a while if it is a systemic. My guess would be a MINIMUM of 30 days.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bless you for your kindness, Eliza! I have chosen to allow the buds to open, photograph them, watch for the bees, and cut off the flowers to avoid any problems. I have also bought an organic spray to help with the insects. I’m doing all I can to rectify this mess. Lesson learned …. do my own research! (((HUGS))) Amy ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I feel so bad, I am wishing for you, Amy to find a natural solution to the pests on your roses. Please don’t take them down, since there are other flowers for the bees to enjoy in your many gardens. I love how you know all creatures are important and I hope someone will help you. My Mom used to use a diluted spray for weeds in sidewalks, vinegar and water. I know she also used a dish soap and water mixture to kill some insects but not harm plants or environment. Please check up some “Green Websites about Gardens” this may help you…. hugs and kisses for the fair maiden who shares her beautiful roses and gardens with us all. I don’t have a house nor gardens so take lots of delight in looking at yours! Smiles, Robin

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Robin, the organic spray I just bought arrived today and I plan on mixing some up to use shortly. I already see webs full of baby spider mites. I’ve tried the dish soap and the insects went right through that. Vinegar I have yet to try and I will check out the green websites. It just seems all I have attempted over the years has failed, because the insects keep getting stronger and strong. They honestly concern me a great deal … they just don’t seem stoppable.
      I have taken hundreds of pics just today of flowers, so many of my Peonies which have me enchanted and so many of other flowers too. I bought so many different flowers this year each as fascinating as the other. So for your enjoyment many different flowers will be coming to Petals. I’m taking some time off today, due to Life’s battering. I seem to be in a tough phase …. so I am spending my day outside on a chair, laying doing nothing but smelling my Lilacs. When I come back into the house, I try to answer some of the comments that are waiting for me. Hope you are having a wonderful day, my friend. Love, Amy ❤

      Like

Precious Thoughts

