Instead I Found … (6 IMAGES)

****
Today found me
way high in the country
 
*
 

*
 
in a place called
the Boston Hills
 
*
 
looking for color
on tree and flower.
 
*
 
Instead of these
found plenty to please
 
*
 
my eyes my eyes
and now yours as well!
 
ENJOY!
 
 
_MG_7848_2998_MG_7844_2994_MG_7847_2997_MG_7852_3002_MG_7854_3004_MG_7857_3007
 
 

Photography/ “Instead I Found” 2014©AmyRose

(The Boston Hills are found South of where I live, in Colden, NY. In the last three photographs, the light green lines you see on the hills are Kissing Bridge, a Ski Resort. Don’t let these images deceive you for these hills are huge. Look at the farmer on his tractor in the last photo to give you a sense how massive these hills actually are. Please also keep in mind, where I was standing was about as high in altitude as the hills opposite of me. To get an even better sense at the size of these hills, take a really good close look at photo number 4, look for the teeny tiny figure of the farmer on his tractor … he really is there … look at the trees behind him, and then look at the hills. Now you are getting the idea! One last thought … the cloud formations today were like straight out of a painting. I was so absorbed in the scenery I really didn’t see the clouds until I edited the pictures, and then I said WOW!)

 
 

49 thoughts on “Instead I Found … (6 IMAGES)

    1. I’m not able it seems to get long distance pictures as clear as my marcros, and I don’t know why, Maverick. And I found out with these, it is not easy to portray distance and how BIG something is. (((HUGS))) Amy

      Like

  1. Wow, Just absolutely love these pictures, Amy. Looked closely at 4 and see what you mean about how huge the hills are. Now I am envious that your so close to these. Love the clouds also. Huge Hugs ♥ xoxo

    Like

    1. Thank you, Kathy. I plan on going back to this area for the fall change of color and then to Kissing Bridge in the winter. I’ve begun planning for those months ahead that are not my favorite times of the year. (((HUGS))) Amy

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It depends on how Fall decides to arrive. Some years it has hit so fast that the colors never did appear. A nice gradual cooling, then a frost, and TA-DA, gorgeous colors. Still too early to tell what Mother Nature is going to do. I told someone I just give up trying to figure Her out because things just are not the “norm”. Have a great day, Kathy! Love, Amy

        Liked by 1 person

      1. I know. This is why I appreciate so much those from around the world who I follow. This gives me a chance to see things I normally do not. I understand, Sam. (((HUGS))) Amy

        Like

  2. Beautiful, relaxing photos. I had to look up the area. It turns out I’ve been near there and passed there many times. Growing up in Pittsburgh, we used to vacation on Lake Erie. During graduate school, I traveled to see friends near Albany and in Rochester many times. Up I-79 and across the Thruway. New York has so many pretty places. Thanks for sharing your corner.

    Like

    1. Ken, it is the clouds that have me stunned in these photos. I was so involved clicking away at the scenery I just had a faint impression of the clouds. When I edited these photos it is then I saw them. And said WOW! Have a great day! Love, Amy

      Like

  3. WOW! These are really beautiful- I love the first and fourth, though they are all gorgeous. I really love horses- I think there’s something about them that’s majestic, so I loved the glimpse of the one in the first photo! Beautiful, as always, Lady Amy 🙂 xo

    Like

    1. Thank you, Melissa. I was saying to someone that my long distance photos don’t seem as clear as my macro ones. Perhaps I am being too critical of me. Hmmm…. Didn’t I just write about the Inner Critic? Yes, sure did! See? I still learn too! (((HUGS))) Amy

      Like

    1. Alexander, I am so grateful for your presence here at Petals. My first year anniversary for Petals is coming up. I have been looking at some of my early works, and number one, I don’t think they were good at all, and number two, I see you were there way back when I first started. I have such deep gratitude to you in my heart for staying with Petals even when I wasn’t all that good. Bless you, my friend, for believing in me. Bless you. Love, Amy

      Like

      1. Amy, congratulations with your first WP anniversary. This year was productive and successful for you. You’ve written so many interesting posts, showed tones of awesome pictures, and the most important thing you made a lot of followers and friends.
        I am trying to explore everything from the beginning on the blogs which I follow and am interested in. It gives me a full picture of author and help to understand as much as it possible.
        I’ve been lucky to meet your blog. Thank you for sharing all of your thoughts and shots.
        Looking forward to read and see your future projects.
        With all my soul all the best,
        Alexander.

        Like

      2. How deeply you touch me, Alexander. In looking back I honestly don’t see anything worth following. Somehow I pulled out of me what you see here today, all because I had precious people like you who appreciate my work. I am in awe of how far I have come in one year. My original goal in followers was to get 500, and today I am over 2400 followers. How did this happen? Yes I have worked so very hard to promote myself here, and yes I have studied very hard to improve myself, yet to know how many are following me, humbles me greatly. What excites me to no end is what awaits me? What? I don’t know but if I have improved as drastically as I did this past year, how much more will I have improved for next year? I cannot loose, Alexander, with great guys like you cheering me on, supporting me, encouraging me. For the longest time I was made fun of because of how different I am, but now, you and so many others have made me feel like I have many friends, good friends, and some that I have even have come to Love. Life doesn’t get too much better then this. I am so darn proud of me, for not giving up even on those times I was so afraid to hit the publish button. To be seen for the first time in my life as ME was at first so scary I actually had panic attacks. Now? I run to post another post, just wanting to share my Gifts with you and all the others who do come here. I will probably be writing a lot of what I said here in my one year anniversary post, but maybe not. I don’t know. I will put on some really nice music, take a deep breath, and dedicate my 1st year anniversary to my followers as I write it up. Bless you for hanging in there with me. You of all people have seen how I have grown, how far I really have come. This is only just the beginning. Where I go from here, I let my Heart guide me. This is so exciting, this journey I have begun here at wordpress. Thank you again SO much for coming along for the ride. It is such an honor to know you and call you my friend. (((HUGS))) Amy

        Like

    1. Thank you SO much, Vandan. Because of your wonderful kindness to me, and your show of support, I will be following you. I do not know your language, so I will not understand, but this is my way of saying thank you for extending such kindness and words of encouragement to me. With Love, and (((HUGS))) Amy

      Like

Precious Thoughts

