The Sun and The Moon (2 IMAGES)

On Thursday of last week, hubs and I went to a outdoor Jazz gig. Yes, I took photos of the band but I was given two Gifts by Mother that astounded me. I saw before me the setting sun through some trees and at the same time the Moon high in the sky.

I whipped my camera out, which of course was all packed due to the concert winding down. I ran, yes literally ran because I knew I had seconds to get that sun through those trees. Unfortunately, there was this pole right smack in the way, and in order to capture that sun through those trees, I had to include it. I do not know yet how to extract objects in photos, and I do not have the time right now to learn. So, I had to make a fast decision.

Do I attempt to get the sun’s rays shining through the trees or do I say “no” because of that pole? You got it! I refused to allow a pole to deter me.

I had my 17-55mm lens on my camera body, and not wanting to waste time, used it. I set my tripod up, set the 2 second timer, and adjusted my settings to:Β  Focal 55mm, f/9, ISO 2000, Shutter speed 1/1024. I believe I underexposed by 1 stop. Oops, I forgot to check that. Anyways, here is that photograph.

07 10 14_9048I turned around to head back to where my chair was, and my jaw dropped. Before my eyes I saw the Moon hanging heavy in the twilight sky. No, I did not see the Moon at first. Double Jeopardy! Wow!!

I turned my camera around, adjusted my tripod, and did something I do not like to do. I changed lenses. Thank goodness there was no wind and I could protect my camera as best as I could. I put on my 100-300mm lens, and proceeded to set my settings. I kept the 2 second timer on. Those settings were:Β  Focal 300mm, f/45, ISO 2000, Shutter Speed 1/166. Again, I believe I underexposed the image by one stop. Well, here the Moon is in all Her glory!

07 10 14_9061And there you have it, AMY. Bless you for making me feel I am helping YOU. Bless you!!! I hope my information helped you, so that you have some ideas on how to photograph the Moon in a different way next time you do. You want a fast exposure, so keep that in mind. (((HUGS))) Amy

Peace and Love to all who view this post. Thank you for being at Petals.

Photography/Writing 2014Β©AmyRose

48 thoughts on “The Sun and The Moon (2 IMAGES)

    1. Thank you, YellowCable. There are so many different ways to photograph the Moon, so the setttings I gave are just one of many ways. A friend by the name of Amy requested to see my Moon, so that is why I did this post. Bless you for your words. (((HUGS))) Amy

      Like

    1. Please, Amy, I have SO much to learn yet. I really am not expert. I just experiment. This is only one way to be able to shoot the Moon. There are many different combos. I just thought FAST due to the time and that is why I cranked the ISO up so high. I didn’t have TIME to stand there and hnmmmmm…….So, I am glad anyways, this helped you out. With the Sun and with Moon, you want a fast shutter speed. And because it was not yet dark out, my Moon’s detail isn’t really clear. (((HUGS))) Amy

      Like

      1. Thank you for your generosity of your experience and expertise, Amy! You are taking photos to new heights. Your photos are always carefully captured and selected, and perfectly posted. (((HUGS))) Love, Amy

        Like

    1. All things are beautiful, Katelon. Many photographers would have said no, because the pole ruined the composition. I took the image anyway, regardless. Thank you for being here, Katelon. (((HUGS))) Amy

      Like

      1. How deeply you have touched me, my friend, in ways I do not know how to express. I have just come through a very tough passage in life, and to be embraced by you in such a manner as you have shown to me, truly brings me to tears. I am honored that a woman with such a Golden Heart is in MY Life. Thank you from the bottom of MY Heart. And now I say, Good night! (((HUGS))) and with So Much Love, Amy

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Love this photo and the pole gives it a big more character.
    Love the orange and aura around it through the tree.
    Great shot of the moon also.
    Have a wonderful week that got here all to quick.

    Like

    1. Linda, the Moon draws me in too. It was not dark yet so the detail is not quite all there, yet, it feels so mystical to be hanging so low and heavy and seemingly so close as well. Love to you! (((HUGS))) Amy

      Like

  2. Wonderful! The moon and the sun in the same hour…you always seem to be in the right place at the right time, so you can show us all the beauties of Mother Nature! Have a great week my sweet Rose Amy…I’ll see you soon! Delvi.

    Like

    1. Delvi, this is how Mother and the One Who Walks on Water work with me, and actually guide me through my Heart. It never ceases to amaze me at what I discover, and the sense of awe I have I am not able to describe. To be photographing the sun, turn around and right behind me is the Moon? That just blew me away! Really!!! You have a wonderful week as well! Hope you are all moved in my now! Love, Amy

      Like

    1. Thank you, Chun. I did not have my polarizing filter on, and both would have been better with it. I had no time to do it. I’m really lucky I got what I did. (((HUGS))) Amy

      Like

      1. It is inspired by a photo of you, I’ve taken the Moon tonight.
        In my case is a late-night Moon.
        To tell the truth I like the Moon in the evening, but it was cloudy.
        Have a nice day.

        Like

      2. If possible,I want to shoot the moon at dawn or evening.
        The moon in a little bright sky is beautiful such as your photo.
        I love your photos. πŸ˜€
        —Chun

        Like

      3. Recently I think many people likes a strong contrast & sharp & clear photos.
        But I feel the scenery is actually more Soft.
        Moon photo of you is natural and beautiful.I want to shoot that way.
        (If this is the shooting of the night, I would be more strong contrast.)

        Like

      4. HDR is becoming popular but I really don’t like it. I like my images to look natural not that super ultra crisp clear look. I’m just going to keep photographing the way I like. I’m not about to do what everyone else is doing. (smile) xx Amy

        Like

      5. I also agree with your thoughts.
        I have tried HDR photo.
        But it was not be easy.
        And I don’t edit the color of photos by using software.
        Pristine as possible. πŸ™‚
        —Chun

        Like

      6. I agree, Chun. I like my photos looking as when I saw them for real. Yes, the sky I must underexpose due to lighting and drama, but HDR, I don’t think is for me at all. Love, Amy

        Like

  3. Oh Amy, I love both of them. I have tried so many times to take pics of the moon. I need to invest some day with a camera where I can change lenses. I have a great camera and love the macro feature on it. My moons always look so small. Great job with both!

    Like

    1. You need a long range lens, Kathy, to get a closeup of the Moon. And even with that, I cropped the photo a little to bring the Moon in even closer. So many different ways to photograph and the settings I gave are only ONE way to do it. That is what makes photography so exciting. I am always experimenting. Good luck with your adventures! Love, Amy

      Like

      1. You are welcome, Kathy. Fool around with the settings. I found out the longer the shutter speed, the less detail comes out. The faster the shutter speed the more detail comes out. Then it can be too fast too. Experiement. Take pics. Look what you have. If you don’t like it, think, what you want to do next. That is what I do. The reason why I had my ISO on 2000 was due to shooting the sun, and I just wasn’t thinking of changing when shooting the Moon. I could have decreased the ISO by a lot, but I didn’t. I’ve shot the Moon at ISO 400, shutter speed around 1/80 (I think) and that came out beautiful. That was at night too, so it was dark. So much to take into acccount for. Just have FUN. Experiment. Just loose yourself in the moment and create. (smile) xx

        Like

    1. Um, yes and no. It was a push and a shove, a crush and a squeeze, and now on cruise. Whew!!! Thank YOU for your compliment! I am thrilled you enjoyed my post! (((HUGS))) Amy

      Like

  4. Amy, you have captured these two wonders beautifully. During several times each year we often view the setting sun and the moon sailing high above at the same time. It always gives me a thrill to see this.

    Like

    1. Mary, this was truly a Wonder, a Gift, and for me to be able to share it with all of you, is another Gift. Only a few times a year this happens, and again, I was in the right place at the right time. Amazing! Love, Amy

      Like

Precious Thoughts

