Took Me By Surprise

Well, as with all things life, the best laid plans can and at times, go awry. Firstly, I had no intention to enter any photo challenges or anything on that line of thought for that matter, well, because life for me is so busy and I really thought I had no time to spare. Secondly, I told you I am taking 3 days off from blogging, and here I am, with this post ONLY,  opening comments. Why? Because your feedback is important to me.

Yesterday, in editing a Rose I planned on sharing with you today, nothing I did set right with me. There was just too much of a very bright orange color which in my opinion, was overwhelming. I was fascinated by the form of this Rose, and so I took a very closeup of its ruffles. In so doing, the entire frame is of this Rose. Just too much color.

So, I said, “What do I have to loose?” and pushed the “convert to black and white” option. As soon as I did, my jaw dropped and at the same time, I window popped open with endless options to adjust the black and white image. What I saw was perfect, so with NO more adjustments, I left it as is.

And that is when I decided to enter this Rose in Leanne Cole’s Monochrome Madness Week challenge. For this reason I am opening comments because I would very much like to hear your thoughts about this Rose.

Here is this spectacular Rose by the name of Fragrant Cloud. She is extremely bright orange, and in later posts I will post her in real color. But for today, she is a Monochrome Beauty.

…. Fragrant Cloud in Monochrome Glory! Enjoy! I really thank you for viewing Her and admiring Her. I know you will admire Her. She is just that gorgeous! Love, Amy

07 01 14_7897Photography/Writing 2014©AmyRose

65 thoughts on “Took Me By Surprise

    1. Thank YOU, YellowCable. That is what I like too. The gentleness this Rose portrays among her many many petals. Bless you for commenting!! Love, Amy

      Like

  1. Beautifully Perfect, Amy! And I wholeheartedly agree with you she is Monochrome Glory! I could get lost in all of her layers…such depth and, although she seems to reveal all at the surface, there is mystery hidden at her core. Amazing! Thanks, Amy! Hugs

    Like

    1. You have put tears in my eyes. My stomach has been so nervous about this, not knowing if others would see what I see in Fragrant Cloud. Bless you, Phyl! I am so touched by your comment. (((HUGS))) Amy

      Like

  2. Stunning!!! She knows she is beautiful. Yes, we are taught to have modesty and not to be conceited. But why can’t we be like this beauty…and feel beautiful…and show our beauty to the world…share it? I’m so happy you posted this…and I am happy that you are entering her into a challenge…and with that said I’d like to challenge everyone to show their beauty…just like this rose! Much love to you Amy ❤ ❤

    Like

    1. Lorrie, you and I are on the same wavelength. Yes, this Rose knows she is beautiful and there is no-thing wrong in that. So if this is true, there is no-thing wrong with us thinking and KNOWING we are beautiful too. All that is seen is a reflection of the one who is seeing. Be Blessed this day! And thank you! Love, Amy

      Like

    1. You have honestly brought tears to my eyes. Deep down I have been “afraid” to “compete” for there are SO many gifted photographers, many who in my opinion, have so much more to offer then I do. Bless you for giving me the courage and the self-confidence in myself to know I too have something to offer. Thank YOU so much! You have given me a Great Gift today! (((HUGS))) Amy

      Like

  3. “Fragrant Cloud” very befitting name for such luminous layers! O how I admire the bee that can slip into those gorgeous folds swathed for while in the fragrant “bed of roses” which we humans hardly find in life! Thanks for sharing; love peace and joy!

    Like

    1. Bless you, Purplerays, for your uplifting words. Thank you!!! I am indeed so touched. What I was seeking to portray in this Rose came across in the black and white. I am thrilled you have eyes to see!!!! (((HUGS))) Amy

      Like

  4. Have to agree that she is beautiful. Love all the layers and love it in black and white.I have seen that happen with a few of my pics that I wasn’t happy with and went to black and white and it transformed the,. Glad that you are entering it in the contest. Love ♥

    Like

  5. It is gorgeous Amy. I really like the black and white composition of the photo, the layers of the rose make a perfection the picture. I am sure it will be a great entry to Leanne Cole’s Monochrome Madness Week Challenge! Great shot!!

    Like

    1. Aw, Indah, thank YOU. As well as you know, I’m nervous. This is the first time I am doing anything like this. I have no idea how others will like this rose, but I for one, am absolutely in Love with Her. And when I decided monochrome for Her, Her real beauty shone forth. (((HUGS))) Amy

      Like

  6. Very sweet photo. I love the softness that the black and white photo shows, inviting you the enter the layers, falling into the texture and fragile beauty.

    Like

  7. She does look like a cloud…one could lay upon and drift away to other world, can you just image the quiet that would carry you?
    This absolutely stunning Lady PinkRose…
    Thank you for sharing your beautiful art….
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    Like

    1. Oh, Maverick, you honestly are making me blush. I was SO nervous about doing this. Thank you for what you just said. But, please don’t put yourself down in the process. Your work is just as valuable. (((HUGS))) Amy

      Like

    1. OH, Nia, Bless you!!! Thank you SO much for your support here at Petals. I really try (during the week) to get over to see you as much as I can. I don’t aways succeed. Have a wonderful day, Sweetie! Love, Amy

      Like

      1. It is not easy what I do, and to do it consistently. Sometimes not possible. Like for now. A big something is looming in my life which will be taking a lot of my time and attention. I only having one mind, must prioritize, concentrating on what Life is bringing to me. Hoping HOPING I can still concentrate on my photography. We’ll see. I really thank YOU for keeping me on your follow list. I understand completely, believe me!!! (((HUGS))) Amy

        Liked by 1 person

  8. It’s lovely… You can adjust the colors on Pixler and it is free… No need to download to your computer. I use it all the time and I also add the text there and crop the pictures… Takes a little time, but it is worth it…

    Like

    1. I like Adobe Photoshop, Lor. And that is on my laptop. I have other programs that are free, but in my opinion, don’t compare. But I do thank you for the “lead”. (((HUGS))) Amy

      Like

  9. This is a great shot Amy! I love it in monochrome as it helps pull out the details. Sometimes colors are distracting where you want to focus on the details of something. I think you mad a good choice.

    I was following Monochrome Madness for a month or so always saying that I was going to participate and before I knew it, it was too late to send in the photo. I then decided that on Sunday or Monday I was going to dedicate a few extra minutes of sifting through my B&W photos to choose one for the challenge and submit it. Ever since I did my first one, it’s become part of my week and I hope to continue with it. I do enjoy this challenge vs. others as I am very picky with my time and will only choose to do something that I am already doing anyways vs. trying to find the time to add something else to my busy schedule.

    It’s always nice to take a few days off here and there. I was going to schedule some posts for the weekend but decided that I didn’t want to rush any posts just to have something there for others and just take the weekend off. I usually try to do one post a day with a special post once a week, but sometimes it doesn’t happen. Blogging is only but a small part of my life and I’m sure it is the same for you. I’m only able to keep up with it because of my job as I’m on the computer for 10+ hours a day anyways and I’m able to sneak some time over here to keep up. If it wasn’t for that I don’t think I’d do as much on here, but I do enjoy it from time to time. I’m also glad that you chose not to keep the comments disabled as I enjoy giving you feedback on your photos and I know for me, I always enjoy the feedback from others. I hope you will enjoy your free time when you have it. Keeping life balanced is the key to happiness. Take things slow and enjoy your time. Looking forward to more of your work. 🙂

    Like

    1. Wow, Justin, I am just blown away by all you have said here. Thank you! I am touched you were pulled to write down your thoughts to me. Balance these days is not easy, and some days, it is a real juggling act. I really do enjoy your photography and in fact, am headed over there now to see if you have anything new. (((HUGS))) Amy

      Liked by 1 person

  10. It is perfectly great to do this. I discovered it just as you did. I just used black and white today on some monkey shots for g+ and it was for the same reasons. It can transform a so-so shot into something really artistic. Lovely rose. They do well in monochrome due to the layers and shadow and light play among the petals.

    Like

    1. Oh, Holly!!! Thank you! Her true personality and essence popped right out when I decided to go black and white. She is a bright orange and this real close up of Her, it was just too much orange. Very overwhelming and it totally misrepresented Her gentleness and graciousness. I am very happy how she looks black and white. (((HUGS))) Amy

      Like

Precious Thoughts

