Pileated Woodpecker Was Here

Today, I found where a Pileated Woodpecker had been, and took photographs. With my macro lens, I am working presently with one point of focus, which means, you really better know exactly where the one point of focus is on what you are about to take a picture of, because all that is not of the one point of focus will be blurry. This especially holds true when using an F-Stop of 2.8, as I was in the these photographs below.

I took the time to put the one point of focus on different spots on the tree, to show you just by moving the camera a tiny bit, thereby putting the point of focus on a different spot, makes all the difference in the world in the photograph. I am learning how extremely sensitive macro photography is. By seeing the photographs below you will see what I am talking about. Also below each photo, I will explain where I put the one point of focus where I intended the photograph to be the clearest and the most in focus.

Macro photography is an entirely different field of photography, which I am just beginning to understand. I have so much to learn yet, but what I am learning, I am more then willing to share with you. For you who don’t understand photography lingo, please bear with me. I think you will get the understanding when you actually look at the pictures. Then what I have said about the one point of focus and how sensitive that one point of focus is, especially when using F-2.8, will give you …. OH! That is what Amy is talking about! Enjoy!

IMG_2743 copyPoint of focus at the back of the hole.

IMG_2744 copyPoint of focus on the top interior portion of the hole. (Barely perceivable)

IMG_2745 copyI shifted the angle and focused on the area directly above the sap to the left of the hole.

IMG_2746 copyThis one I was aiming for the sap, but I didn’t quite make it. It is not 100% clear.

Now are you getting an idea how sensitive this field of photography is? Now do you know why my hands shake? Hope you enjoyed looking at these as much as I enjoyed taking them. I am having so much fun!! xxoo, Amy

Photography/Writing ©Amy Rose~

18 thoughts on “Pileated Woodpecker Was Here

  1. These are real nice pictures Amy! You captured it all on right as it was happening…the details are great. You always manage to get so beautiful pictures my friend. Big hugs and all my best, Delvi.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Delvi. So much!! This macro photography is really challenging and so different from regular photography. I am SO glad you are enjoying my pictures. More are coming. 🙂 xxoo, Amy who gives you BIG (((HUGS)))

      On Sunday, February 23, 2014, Petals Unfolding wrote:

      > D.A. Lavoie commented: “These are real nice pictures Amy! You captured > it all on right as it was happening…the details are great. You always > manage to get so beautiful pictures my friend. Big hugs and all my best, > Delvi.”

      Like

      1. Thank you, Delvi. It’s friends like you who help me keep standing and pushing on to give you so much JOY and LOVE. Speaking of, I do Love you!!! (((HUGS))) Amy

        On Sunday, February 23, 2014, Petals Unfolding wrote:

        >

        Like

      1. Sorry, you are still on my sh*t list. My KATS behave better then you do! Hmmmm……

        On Monday, February 24, 2014, Petals Unfolding wrote:

        > hairballexpress commented: “You’re welcome! Purrs/ Trills/ Purrs…” Respond > to this comment by replying above this line > New comment on *Petals Unfolding > * > > > > *hairballexpress* commentedon Pileated > Woodpecker Was Here. > > > in response to *Lady Pinkrose*: > > I didn’t see him around, Shrimp, but I do thank you!!! Love, Mom BonZo

        Like

  2. My blog is currently set to private while I take a rest but I’m still visiting my friends blogs everyday until I come back. I love all these macro photos Amy, not that I know what a macro is lol. Did anyone else notice the shape of the little things the Woodpecker made are like tiny love hearts, just beautiful. I love taking photo’s and someone once told me I have a good eye for a photo whatever that means, I’ve got 100’s on my old laptop but I only have a Fuji fine pix camera, I think it cost around £90. I’d love to learn the art of photography and one day be able to afford a good camera. I have a whole pile of Digital photography magazines here that I bought from a charity shop, they all look brand new and still have their cd discs attached to them. The original price is still on them of £4.99 each but the lady sold them to me for £1 for all of them but I don’t have the equipment so they are no use to me. Would you like to have them Amy? I think they are 2011/12 I’m more than happy to send them for you. Take good care lovely lady, thank you for showing us a different and beautiful view of nature close up. Su x

    Like

    1. Wow, you really went back and then some!!! I am curious. Was this a post under one of my more recent posts? I really haven’t been paying attention. That photo was taken way early this past Spring, with the original forever gone. I don’t know if you know, but I lost about 14,000 of my photos recently due to dropping an external HD, which represented 99.9999999% of my work for this year. I’m glad you enjoyed this post and this photo. And I also thank you for your compliment. It’s those like you who help me strive to improve my work all the time. (((HUGS))) Amy

      Like

Precious Thoughts

